Free Contests
Back to WINNERonline
Thursday, February 9
MSG Boards Casinos Bingo Sports Contests Poker Games


Get Started

Beginner's Guide



Ask Max

Play a Casino

Top Picks



Directory



Reviews



Slide Show



Random Pick

News & Features

Articles

Player Resources

Best Bonuses



Best Payouts



Biggest Jackpots



Tournaments



Message Boards

Free Games

Play Now!

Rules & Strategies

Blackjack



Slots



more...

Free Contests

Win Prizes!

More Channels

Bingo



Sports



Poker


Newsletter


Get free gambling tips and info! Subscribe to Gambling Newsletter



Gambling Ads Grace ESPN Horse Race Page
4 May, 2009

NEWS

The Kentucky Derby, one of the biggest thoroughbred horse races in the Unites States, took place this past weekend and as onlinecasinoadvisory.com points out, popular sports information site ESPN.com had and has a number of advertisements up from youbet.com, a puzzling situation to say the least.

As everyone knows, the Unlawful Internet Gambling Enforcement Act strictly prohibits the financing of online gambling transactions and although the actual status of online gambling advertisements in the U.S. is up for debate, many companies don't take them to avoid headaches.

Still the fact is, one of the biggest sports sites, owned by one of the most recognizable brands in the world—that would be Disney—has ads for an online gambling company posted.

"Online gambling opponents decry the harm gaming sites pose to children, but somehow certain sites like Youbet are allowed to advertise on one of the most-watched networks for teenage boys," OCA analyst Sherman Bradley is quoted as saying in the onlinecasinoadvisory.com report.

"Seems to be about who you know, not any moral issue."

Online-casinos.com says that although the state of Kentucky seized a number of online gambling domain names last year, youbet.com wasn't one of them.

"Churchill Downs [home of the Kentucky Derby] and the horse racing industry does provide revenue for the state of Kentucky so the officials there turn a blind eye on the illegal activities of Youbet," online-casinos.com said.

Email this page to a friend
Go to the Message Boards
Contact the editor











About Us - Search - Advertise - Webmasters - Feedback



Back to Top Copyright 1999-2003 ALI Online Inc. All rights reserved. Service Terms | Editorial Policy